Tags

, ,

Hebrews 12:2- Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God

I stood there in the pew, worshiping with the saints. Eyes closed. Heart full. Thanksgiving overflowing. But then a newer song came on, and I was unfamiliar with its words. I opened my eyes to look up at the stage, where the band was leading us in worship. My eyes got distracted. For a moment I lost my focus. Who’s that guy up there? Hmm… is he singing into the microphone? Oh look. That’s my neighbor on the drums. Oh wow, she’s really worshiping. Why is he looking at the team, did someone play the wrong chord or sing or not sing? It must be hard to be up there looking out at hundreds of people looking back at you. I wonder if it’s hard for them if we as the peoples aren’t really into it, or yawning or look bored? I wonder if they have to keep reminding themselves to keep their eyes on Jesus, and just worship Him?

And in that moment of my wondering (or should I say, wandering) the Lord spoke to my heart. “Dear child, why do you take your eyes off of Me?” “I don’t know Lord, I find that I am easily distracted.” And all of the sudden I was reminded of a hymn.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

I wonder how many others of us struggle with this? We get our eyes off our Savior. We turn away just for a moment. We see the bills instead of our provider. We see the struggles instead of the Savior. We look at our lack instead of our More Than Enough. We worry over our tomorrow when He wants us to delight in our today. We stare into the face of the unknown future instead of staring into the face of the One who already wrote our future. We look at our lack and list all reasons why we are so unqualified, instead of thanking Him that He chooses to use the foolish things of this world. We cry out that we are weak instead of giving Him glory that He is strong in us.

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

Oh Lord, how I easily take my eyes off of you. How I become so distracted by the things of this world. How I so often carry these worries and fears- and it robs me. It robs me of my thanksgiving. It steals my joy. It weighs heavy. Today Lord, help me to keep my eyes on you and not become so easily distracted. For it is when my eyes are off of you that I loose my faith in what you’re doing and what you’re going to do. Every time my vision gets blurry, will you gently guide me back to you. I choose today to thank you in all things. My eyes are set on you. My focus has been realigned. You are good- help me to never forget that. Amen.

