Tags

, , , ,

Let’s take a little survey. Which voice do you listen to most?

The active voice says- Let’s start our day with the some quiet time with the Lord and a little workout or run

The passive voice says- Not today, I have so much to do

The active voice says- Clean house first, then if I have time, maybe my favorite show

The passive voice says- I’m going to watch my shows, then see how much time I have for cleaning later

The active voice says- Even though I don’t ‘feel’ like getting up early, I have so much to do, I know I will be glad I did!

The passive voice says- I was going to wake up early to get stuff done.. maybe tomorrow

The active voice says- Okay kids, let’s play for 20 minuets, then I have to go back to cleaning.

The passive voice says- I can’t play with you tonight, I have too much to do.

The more we listen to the active voice in our head, the easier these decisions are to make. We train our brain on what is the wise choice and the more we do it, the easier it becomes. On the flip side, the more we listen to the passive voice in our head, the more it’s going to feel like moving a bag of bricks anytime these choices come up. In reality, we will see a much more fulfilled life if we do the things we know we should do before all of the other things.

I compare this to listening to the Holy Spirit. Ask the Lord to help you be led by the Holy Spirit through-out your day. But remember, He is a gentle God, not a forceful God. He will never force His will on you. It begins with little things. The more we obey the Holy Spirits leadings and promptings, #1- the easier it will be to recognize the Holy Spirits prompting and #2- the more we say yes & obey, the easier it will be to say yes more and more to the Holy Spirit.

So who’s voice are you listening to today? If you’ve been living your life, allowing your ‘feelings’ to dominate you, it will be hard in the beginning. I’ve had to flat-out tell myself, “Celeste, no!” Joyce Meyers said, “The more you say no to the flesh and yes to God, the more freedom you will have”.  We can choose today life or death. What will you choose? Your Spirit man is like a muscle. The more you exercise Him, the stronger He becomes in you. And the less you listen to Him, the weaker He becomes. Say no to the flesh today and yes to life!

  Galatians 5:16-18                                                                                                              16So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. 17 For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want. 18 But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law.

