The God of Israel has chosen me

1 Chronicles 4:4

When I was in third grade, I remember a very special teacher who still stands out in my mind today. Her name was Mrs. Buzak. I can’t remember exactly what she looked like but only how she made me feel. My story might be similar to some of you. I grew up in a broken home. I didn’t enjoy being at home very much. And, I definitely never felt like I fit in much at school either. I don’t remember my mom being involved or coming on special days. There was never a ride to school or a lunch with a special note in it. Even though it is about 28 years since elementary school, I still have a warm spot in my heart for Mrs. Buzak. The one thing that Mrs. Buzak noticed about me was that I could read aloud very well in class. Everyday she would pick different students to read a few chapters from our chapter book. Some read aloud painfully slow, while others could read in a manner that would bring us into the story, and Mrs. Buzak saw that potential in me. She would ask the class who they wanted to read, and I remember them all choosing me. I still remember the feeling of joy as I stood to read. In that class I excelled and made straight A’s with almost perfect attendance.  You see, someone looked around the entire room of students, and chose me. Destiny was being deposited in my heart that year.

What about you? Do you have a memory of a time when you were chosen for something? Maybe there was a particular part in a school play during high school or a solo part in the musical. Do you remember how that made you feel? Do you remember feeling on top of the world when you heard your name announced?

Then there’s the ugly side of not being chosen. I also remember trying out for cheerleading in 7th grade. My friend Leslie and I were so excited to try out together. I got nervous and botched my tryouts, while Leslie shined for the judges. The following week we went to read the names of those chosen to be on the cheerleading team, and my name was not on the list. She was chosen and I was not. I remember the disappointment I felt that day.

For those of us who have children, we know exactly what a broken heart looks like when our child doesn’t get chosen for something they really want to do. Or, when two kids are picked to choose their team for dodge ball or baseball, and your kid is maybe not the biggest or toughest kid and is chosen last. No one even has to say anything. That child knows that he or she was chosen last.

Angela Thomas wrote a book titled Do You Think I’m Beautiful, in which she tells such a heart felt story about being chosen. She used to wear big thick glasses and have braces, and she never really felt beautiful. She talks about a time where she and her girlfriends were going together to a school dance. She said she always felt like a wallflower. You know, someone who would just stand off to the edge of the room and groove to the music, one of the wallflowers who thought she would never get asked to dance.  While she and her friends were in a circle talking, in comes the cutest guy, Kerry Gibson. He leaned over to the guy standing next to her and said, “Mind If I dance with your date?” to which he couldn’t reply fast enough, “Dude, she’s not with me.” So, Kerry asked Angela to dance. She said she felt like she was in a dream. She had been practicing her dance moves for nearly four years in her bedroom, to which she says, not one of those moves went to waste that night. When the song was over (which went way to fast) Kerry asked her if she wanted to keep dancing. She nodded yes, and they danced the whole night. Kerry Gibson, the cutest guy in the school, asked awkward Angela to dance. He could have chosen any girl in that room, but he chose Angela. (By the way, if you see her now, um…not so awkward looking anymore!)

And the Lord looks down and sees you standing off to edge of the room, and says, “Do you want to dance?” I’m telling you right now, He’s looking around on the dance floor of life, and He wants to know if you will do more than just groove off to the side but dance. The dance is your life. The dance is you gliding across the dance floor with God, and becoming the woman He thought of when He dreamed of you.

There is destiny birthed in your heart when you realize you are chosen.  And, we are God’s chosen people. In the Bible, we read about the Lord choosing us. But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people (1 Peter 2:9). You are my witness says the Lord, and my servant whom I have chosen (Isaiah 43:10). The God of our fathers has chosen you, that you should know His will and see the just One and hear the voice of His mouth (Acts 22:14).

Today, God is sending you an invitation to the ball. He doesn’t want you standing on the side of the room just hoping to get picked. It’s not a mass email to all on His list. No. Just one name on this invitation. Yours. He’s calling you out, inviting you to do this dance of life with Him. He’s looking at you as if you’re the only girl on the dance floor. He doesn’t care about all the mistakes you’ve made, or that you don’t have any make up on. He doesn’t care about the extra baby fat on you. He made you. He knew of your image before it was even formed. Today, the Lord wants you to know that you are chosen. He has set you apart for His purposes. He has made you to dance. You can’t hide in the back of the room thinking no one will notice. He has made you to shine. I can hear His voice now, “I choose you.”  Don’t waste one more day standing at the edge of the room – get out there and dance!

Lord, I thank you today, that You, creator of all things, have chosen me. There is no mess up or sin that your blood doesn’t cover. No mistake too great. I was before as I am now – chosen. Chosen by You. Set apart for Your plans and Your purposes. Thank you for choosing me; desiring me; wanting me. You’re not mad at me, You’re not disappointed in me, and You only see the best in me. Help me to live each day as Your chosen one. In Jesus name~ Amen!

Psalm 18:19He led me to a place of safety; He rescued me because He delights in me

