Tags

, , , ,

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit”

(Proverbs 18:21)

As a young girl, I experienced many difficulties growing up.  Always searching for something. I needed to feel loved and accepted.  I often wonder how my life might have been different had I had the chance to experience other extra curricular activities. I do remember being in the choir in elementary school. I liked to sing, but never felt the encouragement from home to further that endeavor. In High School I discovered running. Looking back, it was probably the only healthy way I was able to relieve my stress from the things going on at home. I just remember running whenever my parents would be fighting or when I would get in an argument with my mom.

I would have never thought about joining a team, my self-esteem was much too low for something like that. There is a day in particular that is forever sketched in my brain and on my heart that I will always be thankful for. For gym class, we were all told to do laps. So I ran. There was also the track team warming up for their practice on the field. A coach noticed me and as I was running past. I overheard him telling one of the other runners to run with me. He came up along side me and starting running. And as he sped up, so did I. And he pushed me because he saw something in me that I myself had not even realized. Potential.  After the run, the coach came up to me and asked if I had ever thought about joining the track team. “No”, I replied. He asked me if I would join and gave me the practice schedule for the team. He put me on long distance and I started running.  I kept up with the others, and actually did pretty well in practice. My shoes were not very good for running so I came home one day and asked my mom for a pair of new running shoes. I told her I was very excited to be on the running team and really needed some good running shoes. What happened next changed my coarse and has been a battle in my mind ever since. She replied, “Why would I buy you new running shoes, you’re not going to finish”. I walked away saying to myself, “Who are you fooling?  She’s right. You don’t fit in. You probably won’t keep this up. You never finish anything”. And track picture day came and coach sent for me. I told one of the guys my mom said I couldn’t be in track because of my grades. And practices came and went- without me. And I began to believe in that lie that I would never finish anything. “How forcible are right words!” Job 6:25 or in my case wrong words. It’s crazy how that one sentence my mom spoke over me had so much power. I still find myself thinking that and actually allowing that to be my excuse not to do something.  I hear myself saying, “Oh well, you’ll never finish”. And then I have a mental battle in my head. I’m like, hey, who said that? Where did that come from?! And I have to go back to the most powerful Words ever written- the Bible.

And now I have this to ask you. I want you to think back. Who was it that told you that you couldn’t do something? Who was it that spoke words over you to discourage you from doing something you really wanted to do?  Whose negative voice is in your head? Now, you need to ask God to help you to forgive them. I know some people think that if they forgive that person, it’s like you’re letting them get away with it. But forgiving them will actually allow you to be free. That person will no longer control you anymore.  You’ve released them to God. (In Mark 11:25 Jesus says to forgive if we have anything against anyone.) I believe there are many of you reading this that God is calling you to step out. He sees potential. You have to stop thinking that dreams are for other people and start to believe that He who is in you is greater than he who is in this world! Replace the voices in your head for His voice, His Words over you.

The Power Of Your Words ~ Blessing or Cursing?

For the mouth speaks from what fills the heart.  The good person brings good things out of his good treasury, and the evil person brings evil things out of his evil treasury. I tell you that on the day of judgment, people will give an account for every worthless word they speak. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned. (Matthew 12:34-37)

Having experienced first hand the power that negative words can have, I wanted to share some insight on what God has been teaching me.

  • With your kids- We have the power to encourage our kids to move forward or to discourage them to never try. It is an honor to raise my children. I know I am far (really far) from perfect, but the one area I try to stay very guarded is in my words. I am constantly reminding myself that God has called me to be their cheerleader. The world will tear them down with their words. I want them to know and be reminded of how wonderful they are, and that with God, they can do anything. My words could bring them down in a heartbeat. You say something that you didn’t mean and their little countenance just drops. Moms- your words will bring life or death in your home! One example is with my daughter. Her room is always a mess. I try to get her to take pride in her room and to want to pick it up, but it’s been a struggle. Yesterday, while I was out shopping she completely (on her own) cleaned up her entire room! Now I could have screamed, “It’s a miracle”, or “It’s about time that filthy pig sty was cleaned!” But no, instead I chose words to edify and encourage. Baby, I’m so proud of you. Your room looks amazing! And again this morning I reinforced the encouragement and said I was so proud of her for doing that without me asking. She was glowing and proud.
  • With your spouse- We have the power to build up our partner so that they know they can do anything. Or we can tear them down by constantly reminding them of all the areas where they fall short.  I have noticed many successful men have a woman behind them who has figured out the power they have in their words.
  • With yourself- We have the power in our own minds! The words we have in our heads that speak over us. You will never finish, you will always be lazy, you are never enough, you don’t fit in with that group, etc etc.  Ask God to reveal to you in prayer and through His word how He thinks about you. And let His Words begin to change what flows out of your heart and your mouth. May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer. (Ps 19:14)

And a final note on this: Everywhere you go, every thing you do, there is someone out there that could use some encouragement. Think of your everyday life. Running errands, church, work, etc. Someone needs to hear, “You can do this”, “I believe in you, “You’re going to make it through”. Or how about just “Have a blessed day!” I am amazed at the places I go where people are having a bad day and I try to speak words of encouragement and blessing over them- something changes in them. Think of yourself as Gods special agent! Word! :)

The power of life and death is in your tongue! What will you be giving out today?

Be Impeccable With Your Word. Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.

~Don Miguel Ruiz