The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. -Lao Tzu       

There will always be someone out there to look up to and admire. Someone who does something really well. Someone who is amazing at their craft or talent. I love to read about people who are so in love with God and so connected to Gods Holy Spirit. But, something I think we all need to realize is that this doesn’t happen to people over night. You can’t just wake up one day and be an amazing actress. For most people they have studied their craft for years and years. They did the community acting for no pay and little audiences. They did the acting schools. They spent hours and months memorizing lines. And they were passionate about their dreams.

I didn’t loose all of my baby fat overnight. I wish it was that easy. It started with one run. Then another. Then another. Then one visit to the gym. Then another, and so on. I didn’t get so far on my scrapbooking albums by sitting at my table one time. It was day after day after day. And eventually, it has turned into years. I didn’t wake up one day and read my Bible and that was it. I just knew everything about God. No. It was one time. And then another. And then another. What was one day, has now turned into years. Someone doesn’t give their lives to Jesus and in one day say, “That’s it, I’ve arrived!”.

What happens is that days turn into weeks, weeks turn into months, and months turn into years. Learn the art of consistency. Thinking about things short term that end up long term. When you wonder if you are making any progress, think about it as this one day. And then tomorrow, think the exact same thing, and so on. It all starts with today. Remember, this life is a journey that we take.

Things great have small beginnings. Every downpour is just a raindrop; every fire is just a spark; every harvest is just a seed; every journey is just a step because without that step there will be no journey; without that raindrop there can be no shower; without that seed there can be no harvest.

– William Wilburforce

