Tags

She was a young mother. It was in the early 60’s. She was by all means a hippie. Experimented with drugs. Went to Greatful Dead concerts and had the peace symbol around her neck. She already had a two year old son and divorce for her was right around the corner. Her husband was in the army. Now, when she and her husband met, they were very young. Both came from two broken worlds and together tried to make a whole. He was young, built, and serving his country. She was young, slender, long straight hair- and beautiful. They were both passionate and wild. Sometimes toxic. Their lives broken and shattered, were not fit to raise a family.
Then, change began to takes it place in him. He was serving in the army and a chaplain befriended him. The chaplain knew his life was spiraling out of control. He was in need of some good news. The chaplain told him about his Jesus. The man shortly after received his Jesus as his own. And forever changed the course of his life.
Now, the young woman had a decision to make. Her young groom was now different. His heart had changed. Would she follow his Jesus and accept Him as her own? Or would she choose the path that is-although painful- comfortable? There is one more twist in this story. She is now with child. She is by all means at a crucial fork in the road. Will she seek to make a better life for her young son and this unborn child or will she continue in her path of destruction?
She made a decision. One that was filled with heartache and grief. One that I  wonder if she ever regretted. She chose what she knew and it resulted in all that she had ever known. Pain. She couldn’t live with her young soldier and the choice he had made. She wasn’t ready to follow this Jesus. And in her own way- felt he had betrayed her. After all, when they met, they were young and in love and wild- together. She had not changed. But he had. Don’t get me wrong. He was still passionate. Just passionate about other things. He still loved his young bride, but knew he had to choose Jesus. He knew his life was broken and in need of a Savior- but couldn’t seem to reach deep enough to pull her out of her own drowning sea. Jesus could have pulled her out, but she never could quite reach her own hand out to ask for His help.
The young mother made her own path in life. She tried the best she knew how to mend her own broken world and to heal her shattered life. She raised her two children the best that she knew how to. Each of them struggled in their own way, seeking their own personal refuge from a life of pain and confusion.
I would have to tell you that I am thankful for the decision that the young soldier made on that day when he asked Jesus into his heart. You see, that young soldier, although not quite as young anymore, made a  choice that will forever impact my life. He chose Jesus. And he prayed for those two young children. The second of which is me. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God heard his prayers for me and was faithful to answer them. I like my mother, was choosing a life that took me into many dark alleys. But no matter where I turned, there continued to be a light. I am thankful for the gift of prayer that my father gave to me. He and his new family prayed for both my brother and I. And I know that God had a plan for that baby girl. Here I am, thirty five years later. And when I was in my mothers womb, God had already predestined a life and a future for me.

Psalm 139:13-16 For You created my inmost being; You knit me together in my mothers womb 14- I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. 15- my frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth 16- Your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me where written in your book before one of them came to be.

This year, why not give someone the gift of prayer.
You just might be interceding on behalf of Heaven.

And whatever you ask for in prayer, having faith and [really] believing, you will receive.

Matthew 21:22

