Tags

, ,

See full size image

It’s the last day of the 2009 year. I always like to take inventory of my previous year and reflect. I like to look at the areas where I have done well and continue to do well. And then of course, I look at those areas where I fell oh so short! And pray about doing better in the coming year. Stepping it up.

And then I like to dream. I dream of a new year. I like new years. I like new beginnings. I like fresh starts. I think of the scripture found in Lamentations 3:22-23  “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his com passions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” New every morning. I like that. Brand new mercies every morning I rise to forgive me of my yesterdays and try it all over again!

We all have areas where we are weak. We all have things we ‘wished’ we had done. We all have something we regret or regret not doing. So instead of wallowing in the many areas where we were weak in 2009, what if we took this new year as God’s fresh start for us? What if we woke up tomorrow and said “today is the first day of my brand new start!”  Today is a chance to do things a little differently. Today is a day of a paradigm shift in my thinking. It’s not about getting ourselves motivated, it’s about God inspiring us to do things with fresh eyes. And I think if we could look at our end results, we will be glad we didn’t give up. Walk with me if you will. It’s the last day of 2010- that’s right, I said it, 2010. Look at your year in a glance. What will we have hoped to accomplish? What personal goals will we have hoped to have met? What do we want our relationships to look like at the end of the year? What areas do we hope to grow in?  Sometimes when we have the end in mind, we have clear eyes to see with. Fresh vision.

And finally- and most importantly, what do we want for our own personal relationship to look like with the Lord? Are we happy with our end results from 2009 or do we see ourselves pursuing Him even more next year? Are we happy with our little religious church services or do we want Him to consume our everyday thoughts and lives? Living a life filled and overflowing with His grace, love, and mercy for others. That’s what I want. I say bring it Lord in 2010. Make me new again. Bring on the adventure that You have created me for! I am Yours and I am willing. And Lord, renew our lives for you and restore hope.

In 2010, Lord, make me new again!


Here’s my scripture and my hearts cry for each of us in 2010

Psalms 51:10-12

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

11 Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.

12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

May your 2010 take you to new places, new adventures, a year of renewing and restoring. As you put Him first, everything else will fall into place. Blessings!

