There is a battle within my soul- it rages within me. The cares and the things of this world tug like a game of tug-a-war at my heart. As I sit and listen to Kim Walker’s song  ‘All I Need Is You’, I contemplate if this is truly the cry of my heart. If it is, then why do I choose the things of this world? I love what Paul says in Romans 7:15-“I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate. “ I think all of us are given choices, daily, that tug at our heart- choices that lead us closer to Him or closer to this world.

I suppose it is because we are in this world everyday. I can compare it to a soldier. We are in battle. Satan is fighting to destroy as many people on his way out as possible. While Jesus, through us, is fighting to save as many souls as possible. We are on enemy lines and the fight is fierce. In a war, when you surrender, it’s because you’ve given up and lost the battle at hand. But in God’s kingdom, surrender takes on a whole different meaning. The world sees surrender as defeat, while we, as Christians, are asked by our Heavenly Father to surrender all- our plans, our ‘things’, our lives unto Him. For followers of Jesus, surrender means strength. It means we are no longer putting our hope and trust in this worlds system, but we are trusting in the One who promises to supply all of our needs. For until we have truly surrendered, we are still trying to hold on to our lives.  What if we let go and something happens? What if I tell the Lord I surrender some…most all? What if I need to be in control?

I must admit, I have given everything to the Lord many times. And taken stuff back many times. Surrender is a daily walk. That’s why I can relate to Paul so much. There is a battle within him. He knows the right thing to do, yet seems to find himself choosing his old ways, habits, or patterns.

The Lord has been speaking to my heart lately. I keep hearing “don’t get too attached”.  What does that mean? The ‘things’ that we work so hard for like houses, cars, clothing, décor, everything perfect, everything in order- well, that’s fine if they don’t have hold of your heart. See, the only things we can take with us when we leave this earth are our relationships and the things that we did out of a pure heart. Everything else will be burnt up on the alter.

Matthew 16:24-25 (NIV)

24Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. 25For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it.

Mark 8:36

36What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?

Mark 8:36 (MSG)

What good would it do to get everything you want and lose you, the real you? What could you ever trade your soul for?

So what is it today that has a hold of your heart?

What are you attached to?

What is fighting for your heart?

Today, would you ask the Lord to reveal who or what has your heart.

And then ask that He would help us to remember that ‘things’ are just that. Things.

No more, no less. God, our family, and His people- now that sounds like a great investment!

Don’t get too attached.

