I can’t tell you how strong I felt it today. God is calling me to rise early. 5:30 am early. I use to get up at 5 and have quickly found myself out of this habit. I really feel strongly that the Lord will bring breakthrough in some areas early, when I start my day off with a sacrifice. I actually set the alarm for 5 but was awake at 4:30. I have to tell you, this is more than a physical battle. This is spiritual. I was mentally awake. I could have gotten up. I didn’t. I even remember the alarm went off at 5am. I was awake. But something inside stayed where it was warm and comfortable. I kept hearing a still small voice and inside I heard “Breakthrough is coming”. I know this is a spiritual battle. I know the Lord is going to use me to write and because of my schedule and work and kids and kids choir, my breakthrough has to come in the morning. I know that’s when I have the sweetest time with Him, before the sun rises, I will choose to fight this battle- no the Lord will fight my battles, but nothing comes without a price. A sacrifice. I need to choose to get out of my comfort zone and do what it takes before my day gets busy and everything else fights for my attention. My breakthroughs will come in the morning.  I am excited about what the Lord will do with this willing heart. I have some big decisions to make and don’t want to take one step without the Lord.

Jesus Example:

Mark 1:35 And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed.

Luke 21:38 And all the people came early in the morning to him in the temple, for to hear him.

John 8:2 And early in the morning he came again into the temple, and all the people came unto him; and he sat down, and taught them.

For Our Devotion times:

Psalms 5:3 My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

Psalms 59:16 But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.

Psalms 63:1 O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee: my soul thirsteth for thee, my flesh longeth for thee in a dry and thirsty land, where no water is;

Psalms 88:13 But unto thee have I cried, O LORD; and in the morning shall my prayer prevent thee.

Isaiah 26:9 With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.

So what is it the Lords been asking you to do? Is there something that requires dying to self or crucifying the flesh? I encourage you as we are about to start a brand new year- Ask the Lord what breakthroughs He wants to do in your life. And then ask for His strength to do whatever is required of you. I promise, It will be well worth the sacrifice.

For additional reading, read one of my favorite blogs by Michael Hyatt

at http://michaelhyatt.com/2007/01/slay-your-dragons-before-breakfast.html

