Towel and candles

Have you ever been to the spa? I don’t go very often unless there’s a special occasion like a wedding or a special family vacation where all the girls get to go. When I think back about my spa experiences, I’m brought back to a place of peace. A place of tranquility and rest. I love to walk in and feel safe. I love to get naked (tmi?) and put on those soft white fluffy robes with the soft slippers. They hand you an ice-cold beverage with lemons in it and a straw to top it off. I remember thinking, “does this have to end?” I mean really, picture it- there’s soft piano music playing, the room is dark, the large waterfall to the left is slowly trickling down. With each rub I feel the stress and pressures of the world slowly melt away. For an hour or two I am relaxed, at peace and all is well with my world. But then, like the saying goes, all good things must come to an end…or do they?

What if there was a place we could go whenever we wanted. It would be a place of rejuvenation, rest, and peace. What if we didn’t have to go to a spa and pay top dollar for that experience? Would we go often?  Heck yeah! What if we didn’t even have to leave our home? Bonus, right?!

I am here to tell you that God’s Holy Spirit Spa awaits you. Try to get there early, before your kids wake for the best experience possible. Leave your shoes at the door. Come naked- with all your troubles, insecurities, and fears. Let Him put on your robe of righteousness as you enter in. Stop for a moment. Do you hear that? It’s the fountain of living water.  Go to this fountain and you will never thirst again. But this fountain isn’t trickling down, it’s gushing, pouring over. No reservation needed here. God’s already written your name in the book. Oh wait, what’s that music? No, not your stock cd of melodic piano music. Oh no, this is much, much more glorious. Look up. It’s the heavenly host of angels singing holy, holy, holy is the Lamb of God who is worthy to be praised. Instead of feeling awkward and naked in front of a stranger and telling them where the pressure points are in your body, you can begin this experience by telling the Lord- who saw you in your mothers womb, who knew you before you were even formed, and who says, “my child, you are no stranger to me”- begin by telling Him where it hurts. Tell Him your pressure points. Let Him anoint you with oil. This isn’t store bought oil from a bottle. This is healing oil from heaven. Ask Him to release the tension in your shoulders. He already knows you’ve been uptight about some things.

And when this Holy Spirit spa comes to end and your feeling relaxed, at peace. Rested. There will be an angel at the door. She will hand you a coupon (we all love a good coupon, right?). And the coupon reads “This coupon is good for unlimited sessions at the Holy Spirit Spa. No reservations needed. Just come. I love you and I can’t wait for our time together again. Love, God. Expiration: Never.”

Isaiah 61:10 (NIV) “I delight greatly in the LORD;  my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness”

John 4:14  (MSG) “anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst—not ever. The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.”

Isaiah 6:3 (NIV) “And they were calling to one another:  ”Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.”

Psalm 23:5 (NIV) “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

Psalm 68:9 (NIV)

“You gave abundant showers, O God;

You refreshed your weary inheritance.”

 

Enjoy your spa day!

