I remember when I first gave my heart to Jesus- 15 years ago. I had never really been to church (I say never really, because when invited, I went physically but mentally I wasn’t really there) and I have no memory of ever opening a Bible. In my first 20 years of life I lived a very long and hard life. I had always looked to people to fill my void, my love tank. And yet, my love tank was always running on empty. I will never forget the first time I asked Jesus into my heart and God began showing me how much He loved me. I remember learning the worship songs, and singing them with all my heart. I remember that I couldn’t stop weeping in His presence because His love for me was overwhelming. He didn’t care where I had been or what I had done. All I remember was hearing the Lord say over and over “I love you…you are mine…I love you…”And as weeks turned into months (and now years), He has washed 20 years of hardness, sadness, loneliness, brokenness, and emptiness away- washed away by His love for me.

In exchange He has filled my life with such joy, peace, and unshakable faith in Him no matter what I go through. I will forever be grateful that the maker of the universe, the ruler of the skies, God Almighty- loves me this much. I am humbled and in awe of how much He loves us.  His love is unconditional, unchanging. His love is relentless which means He will never give up pursuing us.

Okay, here’s the amazing thing about Gods love (that I’m still learning and growing in each day)- There is nothing you can do to make God love you more than He already loves you today. Stop and let that soak in for a moment. No ministry, no mission, no good works will earn His love for you.  He loves you so much and nothing will ever change that. It is the most selfless, perfect love.
On the flip-side- No mess up, selfishness, or wrong doing on our part will ever make God love you less. This is not to say that there aren’t consequences for our actions- but let’s not confuse that with Gods love.
You see, His love, unlike some earthly love, is not based on actions, performance or what we do or don’t do. His love for you is based solely and purely on who He is. And God is love! 1 John 4:8b God is love.  Nothing will ever change His love, His desire, and His affections for you.  Song of Solomon 2:4b His banner over me is love.  There is freedom in that love. Because of His love for me, I want to love and serve Him even more, not out of duty or obligation, but out of love.
Pray that God would give you a revelation of His love for you.  I encourage you today at some point in your day to sneak away to a secret place with Him. Ask Him to reveal His love for you. This isn’t about a ‘religion’. No, this is about a love story between you and your Maker. This is about a ‘love’ relationship. And He is here, right now, just waiting to show you just how much He loves you!

Jeremiah 31:3 (Message Bible)

God told them, “I’ve never quit loving you and never will.  Expect love, love, and more love!”

